Two Common Council members unseated in Cortland election

CORTLAND, N.Y. – Two members of Common Council in the city of Cortland appear to have lost their bid for re-election.

[do_widget id= text-6 ]

In the fifth ward, alderperson Clifton Dutcher, a Republican, was handily defeated by his Democratic challenger, Bill Carpenter, receiving 63 votes compared to Carpenter's 225.

In a three-way race in the seventh ward, alderperson Linda Ferguson, a Democrat, appears to have been defeated by her Republican challenger, Adam Megivern, who is also the executive director of the Cortland Downtown Partnership.

Megivern received 141 votes and Ferguson received 116 votes.

While more than 500 absentee ballots still need to be counted, Megivern declared victory in the race on his campaign page Tuesday night.

Mayor Brian Tobin, who faced a challenge from Working Families candidate Myshell Titus, won re-election with more than 1,400 votes.

Meanwhile, two of three contested seats on the county legislature were taken by incumbent candidates.

Amy Cobb, who represents the second district, received 100 votes. Her challenger, independent Derek Reynolds, received 57 votes. Cobb had received an endorsement from Mayor Tobin.

In the 12th district, Republican incumbent Joseph Steinhoff appears to have defeated Lisa Miller, who ran as a conservative.

In the 11th district, Christopher Newell, a Republican, appears to have defeated Democrat Chad Underwood. The legislature seat was vacated by Susan Briggs, who announced earlier this year that she would not seek re-election.

Tuesday's election results can also be viewed here.

[do_widget id= text-7 ]