Cortland County League of Women Voters to hold annual meeting

The Cortland League of Women Voters is pleased to announce the selection of Dorothy Hopkins as recipient of the 2017 Alice A. Walker Award. This award honors an exceptional person who displays skills in community service, an independent spirit, a sense of justice, and a focus on the needs of her community. Dorothy’s leadership and much-valued contributions to our community reflect all of these attributes.

The award will be presented at the League’s annual dinner meeting on Tuesday June 13. Attendees will also hear Abigail Bowker (Cortland High School) and Emma Murphy (Homer High School) talk about their trip to Albany to get an inside look at state government.

Caroline Kaltefleiter’s keynote address “Making Responsible Media” builds on our League’s year of Making Democracy Work® programs. Dr. Kaltefleiter chairs the Communication Studies Department at SUNY Cortland and hosts the radio program “The Digital Divide,” which explores issues of new technology and youth culture.

All are welcome to attend the meeting on June 13 at Tinelli’s Hathaway House in Solon, NY. Cocktails begin at 5 p.m., dinner at 6 p.m. For reservations, contact Charlotte Farris at 607-344-3097 or email by Friday June 9.