Empire 8 and Liberty League join to create New York State Football Bowl Game

Alex Wasserman heads to the end zone on a 46-yard TD reception during a game against Framingham State in 2016 (Darl Zehr Photography)

The following is a republished press release from SUNY Cortland.

The SUNY Cortland football team will have a new postseason opportunity to pursue as its conference, the Empire 8, has teamed with the Liberty League to create the New York State Bowl Game. The annual postseason contest begins this fall and will feature the top team from each conference not selected for the NCAA Division III championship tournament. The 2017 bowl game is scheduled for Saturday, November 18.

Cortland has made 21 previous postseason football appearances - nine NCAA showings and 12 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) bowl games. During their first two seasons as Empire 8 affiliate members, the Red Dragons qualified for the 2015 NCAA playoffs after winning the league title and were selected for the 2016 ECAC Clayton Chapman Bowl in Philadelphia. SUNY Cortland Athletics is no longer an ECAC member.

The Empire 8 football league consists of Cortland, Alfred, Brockport, Buffalo State, Hartwick, Morrisville State, St. John Fisher, and Alfred University. The Liberty League football schools are Hobart, Ithaca, Rochester, RPI, St. Lawrence, and Union. Ithaca moved from the Empire 8 to the Liberty League after last season.

For more information on the new bowl game, check the Official Release from the Empire 8.