Local Officials Within Cortland County Sworn Into Office (Photos Included)

Local officials within Cortland County were sworn into their respective positions at the county courthouse on Thursday.

Scott Steve was sworn in as the new mayor of the city of Cortland. He replaces outgoing mayor Brian Tobin, who held office for the past 10 years (5 terms).

City Common Council members Wayne Schutt II (R-1st Ward), Mary Clare Pennello (D-3rd Ward), Pat Lane (D-4th Ward), Seth Thompson (D-5th Ward), Bill Carpenter (D-6th Ward), Troy Beckwith (D-7th Ward) and Tom Michales (D-8th Ward) were all sworn in to their separate seats. Councilperson Katy Silliman (D-2nd Ward) was not in attendance for Thursday’s ceremony.

Also sworn in Thursday were county coroner Denise Bushnell, Cortlandville town clerk Kristin Rocco-Petrella, Cortlandville highway superintendent Larry Drach, Cortlandville town board member Greg Leach, and Cortlandville town justice Robert DeMarco.

City constables Mark and Gavin Teeter, Cortlandville supervisor Tom Williams, and Cortlandville town board members Jeff Guido, Ted Testa, and Jay Cobb were listed to be sworn in as well, but were not in attendance.



Here are some photos from Thursday: