Homer BOE holds reorganization meeting; board provides personnel updates

(Photo via the Homer Central School District Facebook Page).

Summer has set in, and the Homer Central School District Board of Education (BOE) is still at work.

The board held several meetings on June 28, July 6, and July 12 to welcome new members to the board and approve personnel changes.

Superintendent Thomas Turck took a moment to recognize outgoing BOE members Keith Fagerheim and Shanise Riley. Turck thanked them for their service to the board and district as their terms came to an end. New members Amy Kida and Eddie Maslin were also present and were welcomed by the board prior to their being sworn in on July 6.  

Mr. Turck’s remarks to the board also included an update on the Capital Improvement Project. A recent meeting to review the project designs revealed that modifications will be needed in order to account for rising material costs, which will be discussed further at the next meeting on Aug. 9.

Planning Ahead

The board addressed several items to prepare for the upcoming school year. This included passing resolutions to lease buses (approved by voters in May), repair a fuel pump, disposal of items from schools, accepting donations, adopting a corrective action plan from last year’s internal audit, and finalizing the BOE meeting schedule for the 2022-2023 year. There was also a motion to hear options for adding a student member to the board, with those options being presented to the board in September.

The BOE also handled personnel updates, including approval of summer coaching staff and volunteers. The board accepted the resignations of art teacher Jessica Zimmerman, world language teacher Emily Cecala, teaching assistant Rex Ryan, and clerk (registrar) Denise Gilbert. Teaching assistant Hannah Stupke will receive tenure beginning in September. 

Reorganization Updates

During the reorganization meeting held on July 6, Kelli Yacavone was appointed temporary district clerk and administered the oaths for the remainder of the meeting. Aaron Bouwens, Amy Kida, and Eddie Maslin were each administered the Oath of Allegiance, marking the start of their terms with the board of education.

Sonia Apker was nominated and elected as president of the BOE, and Aaron Bouwens was nominated and elected as vice president, with both taking their Oaths of Allegiance as well.

Working Retreat

The BOE is currently on a retreat in Aurora, but held a special meeting on July 12 in order to elect the district clerk for the 2022-2023 school year. Kendra Chambers will take over the position beginning Aug. 1.