Eight from Cortland County named 2019 Scholar Athletes

Cortland senior Lauren Swartz scoring one of her seven goals during a home win against Oswego in April (Ross Cohen/Cortland Voice)

Eight athletes from Cortland County have been named 2019 Scholar Athletes by Section III Athletics.

The athletes will be honored tonight at the annual Section III Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner at SRC Arena in Syracuse.

The Section III Scholar Athlete Program was launched in 1988 with the goal of honoring scholastic and athletic excellence, Section III Executive Director John Rathbun said.

“Section III is proud to support these student athletes as they round out their educational experience. We realize the value that athletics plays an important role of the high school learning experience,” Rathbun said.

The athletes from Cortland County are as follows:


  • Miranda Wolf – Soccer, Basketball, Track & Field; plans to attend Clarkson University
  • Christian Gallow – Soccer, Track & Field; Rochester Institute of Technology


  • Lauren Swartz – Field Hockey, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse; plans to attend St. Fisher College
  • Alexander Ryan – Cross Country, Track & Field; plans to attend Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute


  • Reagan O’Donnell – Volleyball, Basketball, Track & Field, Lacrosse; plans to attend Clarkson University
  • Adam Brown – Soccer, Tennis; plans to attend Houghton College


  • David Simmonds – Soccer, Baseball; plans to attend SUNY Binghamton
  • Desirae Livermore – Soccer; plans to attend Cayuga Community College